Weight Gain for the Not-So-Thick

America is obsessed with weight loss. I was watching The Celebrity Apprentice last night and counted more than 9 commercials that dealt with weight-loss via supplement, diet, or surgery. Everyone knows that losing weight is hard and that’s why there are so many resources and products available.

But one thing I recently discover is that gaining weight is just as difficult.  I’ve always viewed myself as thick. I am very athletic so most of my thickness is from muscle. Not Serena muscles, but along those lines. Working out is a big part of my life, so when I broke my foot in January I tried to find ways to continue to workout. Unfortunately I got lazy because the workouts that I could do weren’t any fun.

Because I haven’t been working out on a regular basis I lost a lot of muscle mass. I went from a size 12 to a size 8 all because I stopped hitting the gym. Some people might like the idea of losing weight/body mass from simple sitting around, but I’m not one of those people. I’ve officially slid into the skinny category. My jeggings no longer emphasis my bootyliscious backside. They simple display my lacking assets (Whaa! *Snooki voice)

So now I’m on a mission to gain weight. After doing a lot of research and reaching out to my skinny younger sister who’s struggled to gain weight since birth, I believe I have to tools to gain weight.

How to Gain Weight 

  1. Intake more calories.
  2. Eat more frequently
  3. Eat healthy fats
  4. Exercises regularly
  5. Less Cardio, More Weight Training
