Shedding the Baby Fat: A Pregnancy Weight Loss Story

By: Guest Blogger Mariam Berry

38 weeks pregnant, big as a barn, hot, sweaty and irritated as hell; I found myself finally deciding maybe I should buy this baby some clothes. As I walked up and down the aisle of Target throwing the necessities in the shopping cart I paused as I picked up a pack of onesies. The eminent reality of my third child sank in and I muttered out loud “I’m having a baby…” A nearby elderly woman responded “Yup” with more than a hint of sarcasm. The last 37 weeks had been a blur of survival, running around trying to keep up with my 4 and 3-year-old, working and eating (the later more than I should have).

Which brings me to the present. Seven months later and no longer just trying to survive, I find myself with the additional challenges of running the preschooler to school, fixing a healthy breakfast, lunch and dinner (when all I really want to do is go through the drive thru), & weight loss.
Working out pre pregnancy was already hard enough, but now the added pressure of working out and eating in a way to reduce my size drastically only makes the task worse. Losing the pregnancy weight, whether 10, 20 or in my case 60 lbs, is never easy. For 40 weeks you’ve given into your bodies every craving all in the name of the baby. All day and every day we spend taking care of everything and everyone else, but now it’s time to take care of you.

So here are 3 adjustments I make every day to aid in my weight loss journey.

1. Eat 30 grams of protein before 10am
2. Make sure one of your meals is a salad or vegetable soup.
3. Keep your heart rate up for at least 30 minutes a day ( working out is your new job)

Remember it takes time for the weight to come off.

( Me at 8 months & Me 6 months after giving birth)

Check out these other women’s post pregnancy transformations!!

Inspired Yet?

